5G-Xcast will be present at the EUCNC 2018 conference that taking place from 19-th 21-st of June in Ljubljana, Slovenia with several activities including a workshop (with a keynote speech, a project presentation and a panel), a booth and a technical paper.

Workshop on “Vertical Industries & Services for 5G (VIS5G)”:

5G-Xcast will be organising a joint workshop on “Vertical Industries & Services for 5G (VIS5G)” during which many presentations related to 5G verticals will be given. From 5G-Xcast side, there will be the following activities:

  • Keynote  – “Future distribution of public service media content and services” by Darko Ratkaj (EBU, Switzerland)
  • Presentation – “5G-Xcast for Public Warning Systems by David Gomez-Barquero (UPV, Spain)
  • Panel 1 – Future Trends in Media Distribution (Panelist Darko Ratkaj (EBU))

Booth on “Future 5G-XCast production with dynamic spectrum sharing on 2.3 GHz band”

In addition to the workshop, the 5G-Xcast project will present a demonstration on dynamic spectrum use at the EUCNC 2018 exhibition.

5G-XCast provides means to deliver the new audio-visual media, like 4k/8k Ultra-High-Definition Television and Virtual Reality including their consumer interactivity. As a part of media production, wireless links are used between the camera and the Outdoor Broadcasting van or another type of video processing unit.

The new audio-visual content requires higher bitrates and more spectrum from the wireless links than the High Definition (HD) video. At the same time, conventional PMSE (Programme making and special events) link bands get other spectrum users. PMSE differs from many other types of spectrum use as being local and having a short time duration.

Solutions on how PMSE spectrum use can continue in the current form and how PMSE stakeholders can take the advantage of 5G will be demonstrated.

Technical Paper “Enabling Vertical Industries Adoption of 5G Technologies: a Cartography of Evolving Solutions”
Authors: Anastasios Zafeiropoulos, Panagiotis Gouvas, Eleni Fotopoulou, George Tsiolis, Thanos Xirofotos, Jose Bonnet, Gino Carrozzo, Stamatia Rizou, Anastasius Gavras, Maria Barros, Xavier Costa-Perez, Athul Prasad, Marco Gramaglia, Anna Tzanakaki, Dimitra Simeonidou, John Cosmas, Mikael Fallgren, Raul Muñoz, Ricard Vilalta